Sarah Hurni

Sarah Hurni is a sophomore student studying environmental horticulture with a minor in agriculture business minor.  Hurni has been collecting plants since she was a freshman at Virginia Tech. Hurni became an environmental horticulture major after applying with the major as a means to get into Virginia Tech.  

“I’ve always liked plants- I think everyone kind of likes plants- but I never thought of it as a career option until I came here and had the professor that I really liked and he started to encourage me with other options.”

-Sarah Hurni

Once she began taking classes, she discovered her love of plants and her passion for foliage. Hurni’s professional aspirations are to work at a Marijuana Dispensary. In preparation, she will be interning with a landscaping company and fertilizing and managing their plant specimens.   

Leave a comment